MEMBERS
LOUANN VAN DER WIELE
CHAIRPERSON
REV. MICHAEL MURRAY
VICE-CHAIRPERSON
DULCE M. FULLER
SECRETARY
JAMES A. FINK
JOHN W. INHULSEN
JONATHAN E. LAUDERBACH
BARBARA WILLIAMS FORNEY
KAREN D. O'DONOGHUE

MICHAEL B. RIZIK, JR.

## STATE OF MICHIGAN ATTORNEY DISCIPLINE BOARD



211 WEST FORT STREET, SUITE 1410 DETROIT, MICHIGAN 48226-3236 PHONE: 313-963-5553 | FAX: 313-963-5571 MARK A. ARMITAGE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

WENDY A. NEELEY

KAREN M. DALEY ASSOCIATE COUNSEL

SHERRY L. MIFSUD OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR

ALLYSON M. PLOURDE CASE MANAGER

OWEN R. MONTGOMERY CASE MANAGER

JULIE M. LOISELLE RECEPTIONIST/SECRETARY

www.adbmich.org

## NOTICE OF DISBARMENT (By Consent)

Case Nos. 16-114-JC; 16-115-GA

Notice Issued: May 2, 2017

Steven A. Kovacs, P 31239, Leander, Texas, by the Attorney Discipline Board Tri-County Hearing Panel #21.

Disbarment, Effective April 29, 2017

The respondent and the Grievance Administrator filed a stipulation for a consent order of discipline, in accordance with MCR 9.115(F)(5), which was approved by the Attorney Grievance Commission and accepted by the hearing panel. The stipulation contains respondent's admissions that he provided an untimely notice of his conviction to the Attorney Grievance Commission and Attorney Discipline Board. The stipulation further contains respondent's admission that he was convicted of misdemeanor embezzlement by an agent or trustee, in violation of MCL 750.1746.

Based upon respondent's admissions and the stipulation of the parties, the panel found that respondent failed to provide timely notice of his conviction, in violation of MCR 9.120(A) and (B); engaged in conduct prejudicial to the administration of justice, in violation of MRPC 8.4(c) and MCR 9.104(1); and engaged in conduct that violated the criminal laws of the State of Michigan, in violation of MCR 9.104(5).

In accordance with the stipulation of the parties, the hearing panel ordered that respondent be disbarred from the practice of law in Michigan. Costs were assessed in the amount of \$839.41.

Mark A. Armitage Executive Director